INCOR®

Berlin Heart is your partner during the entire VAD therapy: from choosing the right system, through implantation, to postoperative management for your patients.

INCOR®

Permanent support for severe heart failure

INCOR® is an implantable left ventricular assist device. Its free-floating, active magnetic axial rotor bearing makes the system unique worldwide.

The INCOR® system has been designed to address the increasing number of long-term use cases within the scope of permanent therapy (known as destination therapy, or DT). Thus, the blood pump can permanently and systematically take over the work of the left ventricle without suffering from wear. INCOR® can also be used as a bridge-to-transplant (BTT) or bridge-to-recovery (BTR).

Berlin Heart offers a comprehensive service plan for this system. Our Clinical Affairs Team, composed of trained medical and cardiology staff members, supports you for the entire VAD therapy: Starting with product training, consultation for patient selection, at the implantation, right up to postoperative care and system instruction for the treating personnel.

If you have any questions, you can contact our experts at any time via the
24-hour hotline.

Benefits

The LVAD offers

  • Biocompatible titanium blood pump with Carmeda® heparin coating
  • Total pump output of up to 6 L/min against 80 mmHg
  • Intrapericardial placement – no pump bag required
  • Determines flow and pressure curves
  • Pulsatility Control (PC) regulates the left ventricular (LV) filling
  • Suction Protection (SP) prevents myocardial wall suction
  • Periodic Flow Change (PFC) facilitates the washing out of the ventricle through periodic flow change
  • Suitable for use in destination therapy (DT) because the pump operates without systematic mechanical wear, thanks to the active magnetic bearing

Components

A system of harmonized components

The INCOR® system comprises the following components:

INCOR<sup>®</sup> inflow cannula

The basis of our INCOR® cannulae is the medical grade silicone. The advantages:

  • 100% leakproof, therefore no pre-clotting necessary
  • Flexible enough to follow the movements of the heart
  • Dimensionally stable, so they do not collapse during chest closure

Thanks to the snap-in connectors, the pump can be safely and quickly coupled with the cannulae with absolute leakproof tightness. The patented mechanism allows for trouble-free de-airing of the system as well as simple position optimization of the pump-cannula combination.

Axial pump

The principle of the Archimedes’ screw

The blood coming from the heart flows into the INCOR® axial pump and passes first through the inlet guide vane which ensures the laminar inflow to the rotor.
The rotor has an active magnetic bearing and generates the pumping activity, while floating without any contact, at a speed of 5,000 to 10,000 revolutions per minute. The outlet guide vane behind the rotor takes the rotation out of the turning blood with the specially aligned blading, thereby building additional pressure, and directs the blood through the outlet cannula to the aorta. The electrical energy to drive the pump is fed by a cable which is conducted through the skin on the right side of the patient. The pump cable is connected to the driving unit cable via a plug connector close to the patient. This unit monitors and controls the entire system and is connected to the batteries which supply the pump with power.

INCOR® creates a constant blood flow which, in combination with the residual cardiac contractility of the native left ventricle, results in a pulsatile blood flow. As the only axial system in the world, INCOR® has a free-floating rotor with active magnetic bearing.

Outflow cannulae

In addition to our textured titanium inflow cannula, we offer two alternative outflow cannulae:

  • INCOR® graft outflow cannula
  • INCOR® silicone outflow cannula

External components for secure support

The INCOR® left ventricular assist device consists of the implantable pump and its various external components. The patient carries the control unit and batteries in the specially designed INCOR® carrier bag. It is used for the safe storage and transport of the components.

The pump cable is fed through the skin and connects the pump with the cable of the control unit via the plug coupling situated close to the patient. This unit controls and monitors the entire system. The main and backup batteries are connected to the control unit and supply the system with power. The battery life of up to seven hours ensures a high degree of mobility.

Video

This is how the INCOR®LVAD works:

INCOR®

Berlin Heart ist Ihr Partner während der gesamten VAD Therapie: von der Wahl des richtigen Systems, über die Implantation bis hin zur Nachsorge Ihres Patienten.

INCOR®

Dauerhafte Unterstützung bei schwerem Herzversagen

INCOR® ist ein implantierbares Linksherzunterstützungssystem. Sein axialer Rotor ist freischwebend und aktiv magnetisch gelagert, was das System weltweit einzigartig macht. Das INCOR® System wurde im Hinblick auf die steigende Anzahl der Langzeiteinsätze im Rahmen der permanenten Therapie (DT="Destination Therapy") konzipiert. So kann die Blutpumpe dauerhaft und systematisch verschleißfrei die Arbeit des linken Ventrikels übernehmen. INCOR® lässt sich aber ebenso zur Überbrückung bis zu einer Transplantation (Bridge-to-Transplant, BTT) oder bis zur myokardialen Erholung (Bridge-to-Recovery, BTR) einsetzen.

Zu dem System bietet Berlin Heart ein umfassendes Service-Konzept. Unser Clinical Affairs Team aus medizinisch oder kardiotechnisch ausgebildeten Mitarbeitern unterstützt Sie während der gesamten VAD Therapie: angefangen bei Produktschulungen, Beratung zur Patientenselektion, über die Implantation bis hin zur Nachsorge und Systemeinweisung für das behandelnde Personal.

Bei Fragen erreichen Sie unsere Experten jederzeit über die 24-Stunden-Hotline.

Vorteile

Das bietet das Linksherzunterstützungssystem

  • Blutpumpe aus biokompatiblem Titan mit Carmeda® Heparinbeschichtung
  • Pumpleistung von bis zu 6 l/min gegen 80 mmHg
  • Pulsatility Control (PC) reguliert die linksventrikuläre (LV) Füllung
  • Intraperikardiale Platzierung – keine Pumpentasche erforderlich
  • Ermittelt Fluss- und Druckkurven
  • Suction Protection (SP) vermeidet das Ansaugen der Herzwand
  • Für den permanenten Einsatz (DT) geeignet, weil die Pumpe dank der aktiven magnetischen Lagerung ohne systematischen mechanischen Verschleiß arbeitet
  • Periodic Flow Change (PFC) fördert das Auswaschen des Ventrikels durch periodische Strömungsänderung

Komponenten

INCOR® besteht aus den folgenden Komponenten

Das System INCOR® besteht aus den folgenden Komponenten, die optimal aufeinander abgestimmt sind und sich in der Praxis bewährt haben:

INCOR<sup>®</sup> Einlasskanülen

Silikonkanülen: haltbar, flexibel, formstabil

Die Basis unserer INCOR® Kanülen ist Silikon medizinischer Qualität. Die Vorteile:

  • 100 % dicht, daher kein Preclotting notwendig
  • So flexibel, dass sie den Bewegungen des Herzens folgen
  • Formstabil, kollabieren nicht beim Thoraxverschluss

Dank der Schnappverbinder lässt sich die Pumpe sicher, schnell und absolut dicht mit den Kanülen koppeln. Der patentierte Mechanismus erlaubt ein problemloses Entlüften des Systems sowie eine unkomplizierte Positionsoptimierung der Pumpen-Kanülen-Kombination.

Axialpumpe

Das Prinzip der archimedischen Schraube

Das vom Herzen kommende Blut strömt in die INCOR® Axialpumpe ein und passiert dort zunächst das Vorleitrad. Letzteres sorgt für die laminare Anströmung des Rotors. Der Rotor ist aktiv magnetisch gelagert und erzeugt berührungsfrei schwebend die Pumparbeit mit 5.000 bis 10.000 Umdrehungen pro Minute. Das Nachleitrad hinter dem Rotor nimmt mit der speziell ausgerichteten Beschaufelung die Drehbewegung aus dem rotierenden Blut auf. Dabei erzeugt es zusätzlich Druck und leitet das Blut durch die Auslasskanüle zur Aorta weiter. Ein Kabel leitet die Energie für den Antrieb der Pumpe weiter. Dieses Kabel tritt auf der rechten Körperseite des Patienten durch die Haut aus. Das Pumpenkabel ist über eine patientennahe Steckerkupplung mit dem Kabel der Steuereinheit verbunden. Diese Einheit überwacht und steuert das gesamte System. Es ist direkt an die Akkus angeschlossen, die die Pumpe mit Strom versorgen.

INCOR® erzeugt einen konstanten Blutfluss, der zusammen mit der Restaktivität des nativen linken Ventrikels beim Patienten zu einem pulsatilen Fluss führt. Als einziges axiales System weltweit verfügt INCOR® über einen durch aktive magnetische Lagerung freischwebenden Rotor.

Auslasskanüle

Neben unserer Titan-texturierten Einlasskanüle bieten wir zwei alternative Auslasskanülen:

  • INCOR® Graft-Auslasskanüle
  • INCOR® Silikon-Auslasskanüle

Externe Komponenten für den sicheren Support

Das INCOR® Linksherzunterstützungssystem besteht aus der implantierbaren Pumpe sowie ihren verschiedenen externen Komponenten. Die Steuereinheit und Akkus trägt der Patient in der speziell angefertigten INCOR® Tragetasche bei sich. Sie dient der sicheren Aufbewahrung und dem Transport der Komponenten.

Das Pumpenkabel wird durch die Haut geleitet und verbindet über die patientennahe Steckerkupplung die Pumpe mit dem Kabel der Steuereinheit. Diese steuert und überwacht das gesamte System. Haupt- und Reserveakku werden an die Steuereinheit angeschlossen und versorgen das System mit Strom. Die Batterielaufzeit von bis zu sieben Stunden gewährleistet eine hohe Mobilität.

Video

So funktioniert das Linksherzunterstützungssystem INCOR®